Books I Read in June

Books I Read in June

I set myself the task of reading five books this month, because I was finally done with exams and I actually had time to read! I did manage to read more than five books, so yay me! Here are the books I read this month.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (4/5 stars)

77493_original
sarahjmaas.com

This is a YA fantasy novel which is basically a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I loved this book so much. The characters were all interesting, the plot was awesome, and I couldn’t put this book down. I really liked the main character, Feyre, and I loved seeing the world of faeries through her eyes. I liked all the characters that were introduced, and I liked that almost all of them had a purpose. My favorite character, other than Feyre and Rhys was Lucien. He just made me laugh, and I was disappointed that he wasn’t in the book much.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (5/5 stars)

17927395
goodreads.com

OMG THIS BOOK. I loved the first one, but this was just on another level. This is more a retelling of Persephone’s story, but less creepy kidnapping and more consensual relationship. This book is also so important, because it draws attention to emotionally abusive relationships, manipulation within relationships and PTSD, which are extremely important, and need to be talked about. The new characters are all perfect, and I want to be their friends. I love the deeper exploration into the world that was built up in the first book, and the plot was just mind blowing. I read this is one sitting, which meant I didn’t sleep because this book is LONG. But it was totally worth it. I really wish there was more Lucien in this though.

The Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (5/5 stars)

IMG-20160704-WA0002

The Percy Jackson series is my favorite series of all time. I loved the Heroes of Olympus series, minus the ending, and I’ve read the Kane Chronicles and the first Magnus Chase book.  So I really don’t know how I missed the fact that this book came out. But when I finally got it I was not disappointed. The story follows the god Apollo who has been turned into a human because he pissed off Zeus. Riordan captures Apollo’s voice perfectly, and my favorite parts of the books are the haikus at the beginning of each chapter – they’re so funny and they are actually small hints of what is about to go down in each chapter which I did not expect. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Percy Jackson. (This book has spoilers for the Heroes of Olympus series, so read that before you read this.)

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami (2/5 stars)

IMG-20160704-WA0000

I considered leaving this book out, because I did not enjoy it at all. The other Murakami book I have read is the Colorless Life of Tsukuru Tazaki, and this book seems to be the exact same thing – it follows a young boy as he reminisces about his past and a girl from his past, while there is a new girl in his life who he could have a future with and he has to pick which girl he wants. I disliked this book because of the way it was written. The main character was an asshole who had no redeeming qualities, and the worst part of the book was how suicide and sex were used as plot devices, with no subtlety whatsoever. This book is also widely regarded as Murakami’s best one, which means I probably won’t be reading anymore of his books.

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales (4/5 stars)

15777621
goodreads.com

This was such a feel good book that just made me happy. It is about Elise and her quest to become noticed by the “popular crowd”, and when her plan fails, she turns to her music for comfort. This leads her to realize that she is actually good at something, and she finds new friends who she feels at home with. The characters in this story are surprisingly rich, even ones that aren’t important, which was a nice surprise. I really liked this book because I personally always find solace in books like Elise does with music, so I understood where she was coming from.

The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley  (5/5 stars)

IMG-20160704-WA0009

This book is kind of a sequel to the Lizzie Bennet diaries and the Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet. It follows Lydia after the incident with George Wickham, as she deals with her counseling, classes and just life in general. I think this series made Lydia such an awesome character, so I think this book was necessary because I imagine many people wanted to see how she was doing post George. I really liked this book because I understood Lydia’s confusion at not knowing what she wanted to do in life – I feel like that right now LOL. I also like how they deal with the effects of her trauma in her everyday life. It’s also awesome how even though Lizzie isn’t in this book much, she isn’t missed, because this is Lydia’s story. I also love how they further explored the relationship between Lydia and Mary. All in all, one of my favorite books.

So those are all the books I read in May, can’t wait to read more books for July 🙂

 

Currently reading: Check out my GoodReads widget to the left 🙂

Currently watching: Mad Men season 4 and Criminal Minds season 11

Currently playing: Rocket League with my brother

Leave a Reply

