I Do Have Faith In Humanity

I Do Have Faith In Humanity

 

This morning, when I opened Twitter as I always do, I was not prepared for what I saw.

On Friday, Trump signed an executive order ordering that families fleeing Syria would not be allowed to enter the United States, and temporarily suspending immigration from 7 Muslim countries – Iraq, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Iran, Somalia and Sudan. To be completely honest, this did not surprise me. I knew it was coming, and I resigned myself to the fact that no one could do anything about it.

I don’t live in any of these countries, but I am Muslim and I have experienced racism before. The constant news about Islam, Muslims and terrorism these past few years has desensitized me to a lot of things. I know what the majority of America thinks about Muslims, Islam and immigrants.

Or, I thought I did.

This morning I realized that I was completely and totally wrong. And the realization hit me so hard that I actually cried. I cried because I was so happy that everything I thought was wrong. I cried because I was so relieved that there are people fighting for people who can’t fight themselves. I cried because my faith in humanity was restored.

There are so many people who care. There are lawyers running to JFK to help people who have been detained. There are cab drivers refusing to do airport runs as a way to protest the ban. There are people donating to organisations that want to make a difference in the lives of people who have nothing left. There are hundreds of thousands of people talking about this ban and protesting it.

I can’t explain how I feel in words. It is beautiful and wholesome and gratifying and amazing and overwhelming and heartwarming and just perfect. And I am so thankful that these are the people who are winning. The kind people, the good people, the people who don’t care about what religion you follow, or don’t. The people who will help others, without expecting anything in return, the people who don’t stand and watch as injustice wins. These are the people that matter. These are the people that are important.

Pay no attention toย the ugly people, the ones who think having lighter skin makes them superior to others. The ones who think that keeping people out of a country that they invaded and colonizedย will do anything to combat terrorism. The people who don’t care about thoseย who have nothing, who fight for their lives every single day, and who just want a better life. Fight them and show them that they are wrong, and that they cannot win.

Featured Image: Stephanie Keith, Getty Images

Links

Donate to the ACLU

Read these if you feel like you are losing hope:

(Read the whole thread and look at the amazing art)

 

 

Leave a Reply

